Soprano mod to Low A

Asopran1[1] (2)I was talking to Stephen Page about his soprano that he had Benedikt Eppelsheim modify to play to low A. You might remember that Benedikt built me a custom bass sax that plays to low A. Stephen sez:

“For a while now, I had been lusting for a Low A soprano. I am a classical player, and I do a lot of violin transcriptions, which of course may require a low concert G. So, after seeing one that Mr. E had made for a friend in France, I got in touch. A few months later, I sent my Yamaha EXHG for the work. I’ve had it back for a month now, and it is simply amazing. The whole lower register is much, much better. The new tone hole gets rid of a dissonant overtone that used to be present with the previous final tone hole. The key is operated by a LH thumb key, just like a Bari. The work is simply impeccable. You can hardly tell it is aftermarket!”

What an exciting idea. Note, I haven’t run this by Suzy yet for funding so mums the word okay?  ;o)

Here are a few pics that Benedikt sent me.

IMG_1460  IMG_1461

Ouch, that’s gotta hurt!

IMG_1462  IMG_1465

Benedikt does top-notch work. Like the line from Batman, “Where does he get those toys?

IMG_1466[1] (2)  IMG_1467[1] (2)

IMG_1543

And the modified instrument still fits in the case. Shipping is very expensive, almost one quarter the total cost. Stephen adds, “I’ve turned the old bell into my new reed water cup 🙂 Great conversation starter!”

Well, I’m considering asking Suzy about this tomorrow. It’s not like I don’t have enough musical instruments already. But this would be a pricey investment but one that I would really enjoy and use. And knowing Benedikt and his work as I do (I own one of his soprillos and have played one of his contrabass saxes), the instrument will play better than when I purchased it before his work.

Cheers.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Collectable, Eppelsheim, Music Instruments, Saxophone and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Soprano mod to Low A

  1. Beth says:

    Sounds good to me.  (How was that for an intelligent comment?)  LOL  I hope Suzy lets you get it.

  2. Helen says:

    Heh Jim.
     
    Looks interesting. I’m not much of a small horn player, so I’d rather go for the low G bass myself that Quinn has (if it’s still available). I think a troika of basses would be über kewl. Don’t you?
     
    Either way, I think Suzy would understand…Maybe??? And if not, maybe your dog wouldn’t mind sharing its house with you 😉

  3. JaAG says:

    I play the soprano during the week for practice sessions because it’s always out. Next to the alto, which I almost never get to play because there are so many alto sax players, it is my favorite instrument. But I really can’t justify the expense this time. At least I can take some solice in the 40 other instruments I have.  ;o)

Leave a Reply

