SOLD: Buescher Bass Sax

Update: This instrument has been sold.

For your consideration is a ’21 (estimated) Buescher TruTone bass sax. It comes with a new Mason Pro hard case, the original and a silver Gloger neck, two mouthpieces (Conn Eagle pickle barrel and a Paul Coats tweaked Bari sax mouthpiece that works great on this instrument).

The instrument is original silver plated with a gold bell wash treatment. Two modifications have been made. The original neck was shortened about a half inch to give me more room to adjust pitch. And an Amati spit valve was added because this instrument didn’t get one from the factory.

P1010076

All the work has been done by world famous musician and repair tech Paul Woltz of Kennelly Keys. He has fixed a couple of intonation issues so that I can play the full range of this instrument from top to bottom with no alternate fingering needed. This horn is ready to play now.

The instrument will ship from Seattle and including the shipping in the lower 48 states at a cost to you is $7300. Just leave me a comment and I will contact you. If you live in the Seattle metropolitan area, you can come try the instrument out. I have had many offers on my many vintage instruments like the one Jay Easton gave me for the silver Selmer Paris Bb clarinet. After playing it he said, “If you ever want to sell this, let me know.” I take very good care of my instruments and they are all players.

P1000881 BassSaxStand BuescherBaby6

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Seattle Solid GOLD Big Band (formerly the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra) a GOLD sax quartet, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Hobbies, Music Instruments, Sax Quintet, Saxophone, Vintage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to SOLD: Buescher Bass Sax

  1. Jhenerson says:

    heyy my email is Jhenerson@live.com how much u want on this sax??

  2. Tom De Winter says:

    What exactly was done to fix intonation issues.

    And what were those issues?

    Thanks.

  3. Gandalfe says:

    1. Leaks fixed.
    2. Keywords heights checked and adjusted.
    3. Gloger neck fixed some stuffy notes. Don’t know why, it just did.
    4. The use of an original vintage pickle-barrel mouthpiece improved intonation and sound.

  4. Gandalfe says:

    The issues originally were that I really had to jamb the mouthpiece on the neck to below the cork to get the instrument in tune across the range. So Paul Woltz, who you can hear playing here on the same make/model of horn (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L5277UUnOyA), cut a half inch or less from the original neck and I was then able to try a number of mouthpieces including the Paul Coates Runyon.

    Also the D2 which is notoriously stuffy on vintage basses required the alternate palm key fingering until I used the Gloger neck. The Gloger neck also helped with the intonation from G2 up.

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Post (since I moved from Windows Spaces) | The Bis Key Chronicles

  6. TShack says:

    I’m interested, is it still available?

  7. Pingback: Top Five Bass Sax Observations | The Bis Key Chronicles

  8. frank Torres says:

    Is the stand originally a bari stand?

  9. Gandalfe says:

    In the picture, yes. But when i purchased the Eppelsheim bass, I got a bass saxrax.

Leave a comment