The Selmer Paris modele 67 Privilége low-C bass clarinet

I have been extremely happy with this bass clarinet, a Selmer Paris Privilége modele 67 low-C, after wrestling with a vintage Leblanc Paris model for about six months. All of a sudden I have the full clarion range without the squeaking or disappearing notes that so frustrated me with the other instrument. As a matter of fact, I as a fledgling clarinet player can easily play to D4. And Kessler & Sons Music set the instrument up perfectly for me so there are no growing pains.

The keyworks are different, but superb. Very ergo, they are easy to reach and activate. I’m learning to find some of the alternate fingerings and use the low D, C#, and C that didn’t exist on my other instrument.

This bass clarinet is somewhat heavier but has a nice leg stand that has a rubber ball on the end of it to keep it from sliding. The case is lighter by 50% than my old-school Leblanc case and has a number of backpack and side strap options.

I’m still using my Walter Grabner ‘Laurie Bloom’ mouthpiece because that was a quantum leap from the J.D. Hite that I used with the Leblanc. I did a lot of research on a number of musicians forums to find this killer mouthpiece. Then I have let a number of my colleagues try it out and across the board  they were impressed. Now they get to try my new bass clarinet out. Life is sweet.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Seattle Solid GOLD Big Band (formerly the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra) a GOLD sax quartet, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Selmer Paris modele 67 Privilége low-C bass clarinet

  1. Carrie says:

    Greetings from one clarinetist to another! :) Congrats on the new clarinet!  Gotta love that!  Thanks for stopping by my blog, and thanks for the bday wishes. Have a great Friday!God bless :)

Leave a comment