Muddy Yards and Dirty Shoes

You pray for rain, you gotta deal with the mud too. That’s a part of it. ~ Denzel Washington

StonePathThree storms have deposited their rain filling our streams, retention ponds, and yards. As I walked across the yard, checking the chickens, plants, and such I was very thankful I had laid garden stones, paths through the muck.

I have been laying these paths and in some cases pivot points right before gates for a number of years. Hauling these stones is no easy work. But now, I have very little mud spots in my yard that had to be repaired every Spring.

I started by digging them in, but now-a-daze I just lay them in place and in less than a year they seat themselves at ground level rather nicely. I do have to trim the grass around them, but I actually enjoy doing that.

So the rains have come and will be in the Northwest for the next 7 months or so. But my shoes will be mostly mud free and my heart light. Enjoy.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Guides, My World, Tips and Tricks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

