Phil Woods – Just the Way You Are

One of my many instructors, this is a touching tribute to Phil.

SDartSax

Phil Woods passed away this week, so I thought it would be fitting to take a break from the Maceo transcriptions and share one of his most iconic solos.

While he was a jazz legend, I chose this pop recording since it is so famous. When was the last time you heard a saxophone solo in song on the top 10 chart for pop/rock? The 70s were a different time…

This solo deserves the praise that it gets. Phil didn’t dumb down his playing for a pop audience, or resort to gimmicks. He just played a simple, beautiful solo that has some great jazz lines in it, and subtle use of dissonance, tension…

View original post 49 more words

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Phil Woods – Just the Way You Are

  1. Tom Zappe/St Louis says:

    Phil told me he did that solo as one among several other recordings during one afternoon. He did it in one take with the chord changes written down on a matchbook.
    I told him that with all the wedding “first dances” I played it for I made it a point not to copy his solo. He said “Thank God, I’m sick and tired of listening to bad imitations of me.”

  2. Gandalfe says:

    Ouch. Well Phil could be direct.

Leave a Reply

