The Hut Beneath the Pine: Tea Poems

imageAfter two 20-year careers and now on my third, I thought I’d share a little Daniel Skach-Mills prose on the subject. It really struck a vibe with me.

“The human world teaches people
how to compete, get noticed,
succeed.

Here in my little garden
success is whatever happens
to be blooming at the moment.
Renown: the full moon throwing
its short lived silver spotlight
onto the pond.

Twenty years of so-called ‘education’
and just look at all the unlearning
I’ve had to do
in order to truly taste
this one bowl of tea.”

This is from his book, “The Hut Beneath the Pine: Team Poems”.  A cap tip to Lauren for sharing this with me.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Books, Culture, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

