Free Blues Backing Tracks

“Blues is easy to play, but hard to feel.” ~ Jimi Hendrix

imageI was setting up a team event at work last month. I always chose a music them and this time was no exception. We have access at Amazon to great audio technicians. So the sound system was superb. The event was to be an open mic, but there were no takers.

I had noticed that a new employee on another team (and friend from my daze at Microsoft) had brought his guitar in for a gig that night. So I asked him if a team mate of mine could borrow the 1960-some Strat.

I had set up an American Idol style judge panel:

 

…consisting of some cute and funny people from the management team. The first thing that the player asked was where was the backline (drummer, bass, and pianist) that I had provided in the first event I set up. That cost me $200. And trying to get volunteers from the huge Amazon company had proved too hard to do.

So the guitar player had me search YouTube using “blues backing track” and voila, there were a number of backing tracks in any key. The event was a success with the use of a borrowed guitar and YouTube. Three people competed and the panel more than delivered the laughs. YMMV.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Blues, Cheat, Culture, Guides, Guitar, Music, YouTube and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

