Circle of Fifths by Zodiac Sign

CircleOfFifths_Astrology

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Humor, Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Circle of Fifths by Zodiac Sign

  1. Brent says:

    Hi Gandalfe, This ‘circle of fifths’ picture got my attention from clicking on the link from Helen’s Bassic-Sax.ca site. Helen and I often exchange emails, as I believe you do too. I was the one that brought her attention to your posted link of someone playing your ‘Hohner Sax’ to let her know what my ‘Orchestra Saxophone’ also sounds like (the very one pictured under her Blow Accordians pics). I haven’t looked too closely at this picture (anything associated with horoscopes gives me the creeps), but musically, shouldn’t the circle go:- C, F. Bb, Eb, Ab, Db, Gb, B, E, A, D, G which leads back to C ? Or clockwise, in reverse, if that makes sense to you. That is why it is called circle of fifths:- each next note is the DOMINANT 5th of the one before. VERY useful tool in music. I have enjoyed your regular comments and humour on Helen’s site and elsewhere. Cheers, Brent

  2. Gandalfe says:

    You are of course correct. When I returned to music I had just such a chart on the back of all my music books (quartet, big band, and concert band) as I struggled to learn how to read changes. Still, you have to admit, this is funny. Be well Brent.

  3. CW says:

    Interesting. I’ve never seen a relationship between the Co5ths and Astrology. Me like.

Leave a Reply

