My kind of music, Jazz is

“A musician must make music, an artist must paint, a poet must write, if he is to be ultimately at peace with himself.” ~ Abraham Maslow

With my new job and extended commute, I am practicing less. I need to get my head together and get to that happy place where work, play, and family are in all in that happy place. It wouldn’t be so stressful if I wasn’t so hard on myself. I want to do so much more than I am right now, but I feel like I’m just eekin’ by.

No worries though, this feeling seems to hit me every 20 years or so. It it me when I was transitioning from college to the military. It came back again when 20 years later I was transitioning to work at Microsoft. And now twenty years later, I’m at it again with Amazon.

Fortunately I am surrounded by great family, friends and musicians. This too will pass. So enjoy the music.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Band, Big Band, Commuting, Entertainment, Family, Getting a Job, Gigs, Jazz, YouTube and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My kind of music, Jazz is

  1. stuka@mindspring.com says:

    Yeah, a bird got’sta sing…
    I get at least an hour of music time in each workday, simply because I happen to work in a place that I can bring a horn and play/practice for breaks and lunches.

    I might suggest getting a Yamaha WX5, an iPod (if you don’t already have one), one of the new iPod MIDI interfaces, and some ear buds. Find a softsynth app that you can live with, and you can practice anywhere, even at your desk on breaks. Bonus: you can even set a WX5 to play as a C, Bb, or Eb instrument. The keys are set up very similar to a flute. They are wonderful and I miss mine and intend to get another one as soon as I can, especially now that iPods have MIDI capability (the limitation I faced when I had one before was unavailability of a truly portable tone generator). Bonus 2: if you have public transportation available, this setup works as well on a bus or train as it would at your desk. Commute time turns into practice time. Yay 🙂

    The WX5 fits perfectly in a soft carry case designed for a disassembled double-barrel shotgun. Got one for $20 at a gun show and it worked great. It doesn’t look like it was designed for carrying a weapon, either, so there was no need to worry about unfortunate misunderstandings….

Leave a Reply

