Facebook Timeline Test Drive

I have been using the new Facebook Timeline for a couple of weeks and thought I’d share my viewpoints. Remember, I am an optimist, who strives to simplify. And I am a very visual person, so glitter does tend to distract me. Here is my new profile:

FBtimeline

Rather than right a long post, I am going to address why I like this format. First, your FB profile picture is amplified with a “cover picture”. Yes, this speaks to the artist in me but causes some friends some grief because they “have to” figure out what to use as a cover. Sigh… really?

Notice that the posts are spread out like a newspaper with two columns. I think they call it a scrapbook format. I find it easier to scan and catch up with my friends this way. There are rumors this is not a good experience on a mobile device and that the page loads much slower for those with antique computers.

Finally, and this is a big work item, there is a life timeline that is way too intimidating a work item. However, you don’t have to address it immediately if ever and parts of the timeline are auto-populated with the data you provided, like birthday, high school graduation, marriage and the like.

I have started working on my timeline and the associated map of where I’ve been by editing key pictures in my collection. I should note that I have a relatively small group of friend (I try to keep it below 200 at any given time) and no lurkers who I don’t know. I’ve ratcheted down the security so that very little is public.

YMMV but today I am happy with the resulting profile. I expect to discover other aspects as I progress, but I do find that the people adopting the new Facebook Timeline seem to be my kind of people; writers, artists, and lovers.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Facebook, FAQ, Guides, Internet, My World, Social Media and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Facebook Timeline Test Drive

  1. Elaine says:

    I like the new format though I haven’t done much with my life timeline yet.I like your ‘200’ number, that is definitely something I need to address!

  2. Gandalfe says:

    I sometimes waffle on this number of friends but in the long run, I really can’t take care of many more relationships than that. Who can?

Leave a Reply

