Meet the Band, a historical movie

AmericanBand2The Community Music group on Yahoo just received this post:

Hi. I made a movie about 10 years ago called Meet The Band. I profiled four very different community bands from around the country and mixed in a historical narrative as well. I wasn’t able to actually market the film because I ran into a lot of royalties problems. So it’s been sitting around and I decided I may as well share it with people who might enjoy it. I figure this might just be the place. Here is a link to the film: http://vimeo.com/30810706.

AmericanBand

I hope you enjoy watching it as much as I did making it. It was truly a labor of love even though I don’t belong to a band, play an instrument or have any musical talent whatsoever. But I’ve become a big fan of community bands! Feel free to ask me questions about putting this together. It was quite an adventure. ~ Bill Parker

Heads up, there is a funny discussion of trumpeters at the end of this video. All in all, it’s nice to see a film of this quality that touches upon what the American Community Band is, where it came from, and why we are “in the band”.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Community, Culture, Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

