PGSQ: A little Ragtime Music on the Weekend

imageThe Professor Gadget Sax Quartet is a labor of luv for me. But we really don’t practice enough. Work, family, and other band commitments are constantly getting in the way. That said, this is our Labor Day performance at the wonderful Ballard Locks Summer Concerts hosted by the US Army Corps of Engineers.

We do have fun and I like to think that we are better musicians for the work we do in the sax quartet. Every part is exposed, every instrument heard, and there is no place to hide. If I was a perfectionist I wouldn’t ever show these videos around. But at each performance I get approached by people who played in high school, are thinking about returning to music and were very impressed.

Some of the people who talk to me are musicians in other bands. Last night a fellow wanted to know what our setups were because he said our intonation was very good. He also wanted to know if we were using stiff reeds to make the higher notes easier to play in tune. I told him there wasn’t a jazz mouthpiece in the bunch; we were using #5 or so openings and Meyer and such mouthpieces.

I’m off to my Monday sax lessons with the professor, Ray Guyll. He has reviewed what I’ve posted and will work with me to improve my performance. My goal is to play as well as each of these fine ladies did in the concert. They are very solid musicians.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Heros, Music, Sax Quartet, Saxophone, WCB and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to PGSQ: A little Ragtime Music on the Weekend

  1. Tina says:

    I’m using a Jody Jazz 7 mouthpiece on the bari with a Hahn (synthetic) size 2 reed…

    Thanks for posting, Jim!
    It sounds better than I remember. 🙂
    The blend out front is definitely better than from where I was sitting. Out in the park the sounds just seem to float away. Much different than playing indoors.

  2. Gandalfe says:

    I was surprised how strong you sounded out front to. I could hear you well, but the audience could hear you even better!

  3. Pingback: Cryptoquote Spoiler – 11/23/11 « Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

