A Man called JaAG aka Gandalfe

One of the partners thought I should blog about why I call myself JaAG at work. JaAG is just an expansion of my initials James A. Glass. It is also my Microsoft alias. So I often find myself in this conversation:

Them: JaAG, that’s a cool alias. How’d you get it?

Me: I asked for it.

Them: Silence (cue crickets) or “You can request a specific alias?”

AaronNickMeWhen I was in school, there were always a number of Jim’s in the class. I always hated that. So I named my son Aaron. And then, you guessed it, there were always a number of Aaron’s in his class and no Jim’s.

Here at work there are a number of Jim’s. Since many of my friends at work call me JaAG anyway, I decided to start using it in my new capacity as the CRM community guru. As cool as that handle is, only my closest friends and coworkers call me JaAG. It does get my attention very quickly though. Now if I could get everyone to capitalize it the way I do. Yeah, I know… Sounds like I have OCC or something.

In the jazz ensembles I play with there are three Jim’s. The director would often say things like, “Jim, play behind the beat!” and all three of us would have a ‘gut check’ moment. Now I’ve asked him to start using JaAG, and my stress level is a lot lower. :o)

In my private life I have used the alias Gandalfe with the olde English spelling because Gandalf was not available at the time. Now ‘Gandalfe’ is oft times not available in new social media and email service sites. Once again, I selected an alias because there are about 20K Jim Glass’ in the United States. It’d almost be like going with John Smith to use my real name. I’ll leave it as an exercise to each of you to determine if I’m more like Gandalf the White or Gandalf the Grey.

JaAG

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Blog, Family, Forum, Lifestyle and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

