Microsoft Jazz Band at Tula’s

Tula’s Jazz Club is an institution in Seattle, a place where the hep cats hang out, bread bread and listen to some jazz. USA Today listed them as one of the 10 great places to get jazzed about great jazz. So when Jim Cutler invited the Microsoft Jazz Band to open for them last night we jumped at the opportunity.

image

The house was packed and I was a bit worried that we would be too loud for the joint, but the audience let us know we were just fine. I gotta say that for my solo, I wasn’t able to stand because I hadn’t memorized it and the fronts we used was too low for me, 6’ 4” to see while standing.

Our guest lead alto that night was Microsoftie Scott Dart who is part of DoctorfunK and a neighbor of mine.  A strong player, Scott also soloed on a number of charts including “Basically Blue”.

PS: Forgot to mention that I got some footage of the Jim Cutler Jazz Orchestra that you might enjoy: https://biskey7.wordpress.com/2011/03/09/jim-cutler-jazz-orchestra-tulas-almost-every-sunday/

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Band, Hobbies, Jazz, Microsoft, My World and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Microsoft Jazz Band at Tula’s

  1. Awesome, thanks for sharing, bet it was fun, congratulations! Did you have someone video? If so, post, I would enjoy watching it!

  2. Gandalfe says:

    Not this time, but you can see a number of videos from this year at http://www.youtube.com/user/Gandalfe?feature=mhee
    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

