Facebook Permissions ~ a Plea for Fairness

I recently saw this post from a friend of mine on Facebook:

keriTat

I am guessing that Keri did not authorized this implicitly. Rather, she took a quiz and this picture got sent to all of her friends including Mom, Dad, and her brothers. Firstly, this is not Keri. Secondly, when she was taking the quiz, the app didn’t mention that they were going to publish this picture to all her facebook friends. Furthermore, if she had the wrong security settings, everyone on facebook would see this picture. And, this could happen to anyone.

My recommendations are easy, don’t select the “Everyone” category for most parts of your facebook profile. I’d even suggest the same for the “friends of friends” category. But more importantly, don’t play games on Facebook because there is so much private information in your profile. Yeah, I know, easy for me to say because I don’t play computer games very much.

Now to Facebook, meet me at camera three. “Hey, Facebook, can you do a better job of controlling the game makers so they are upfront about what happens when you play their game?” I’m just sayin’…

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Facebook, Family, Games, Hobbies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

