VibratoSax: The Amazing Plastic Sax

Meet the amazing plastic sax, the VibratoSax introduced and made available in 2010. The first models are around $400 plus shipping at last check.

image

imageYou might remember that Charlie Parker played the first ever (and last I think) plastic alto sax that made it to production, the Grafton sax. Those instruments are extremely rare and even rarer in playable condition. I think the last one sold for ~$15,000 on eBay. Charlie’s sold for even more.

The saxophone forums like the Woodwind Forum has been talking about this new instrument and manufacturer for a while now. Here are the threads I’m following now:

And here’s the video which is astonishing because the performance is better than those I’ve heard from the manufacturer:

Randy play the Hell out of a plastic sax.

I think the video of this instrument (above) speaks with more authority than many of the guesses, speculation, and out right disses by those who have not seen the instrument. Although I don’t think this instrument will replace my primary sax anytime soon, it is a fascinating event in the history of the saxophone. I have placed a request on many of their videos for a Charlie Parker tribute VibratoSax to be made with the same cream color, unique key shields and gold lacquer neck, keys and touches as the original. We’ll see.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in In the news..., Saxophone, Technology, Video, Woodwind Forum, YouTube and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to VibratoSax: The Amazing Plastic Sax

  1. Matthew D Brown says:

    Please tell me, how can I obtain one of these??

Leave a Reply

