Droid 3G Incredible ~ A 2010 Review

DSCF1142A long time user of the Windows Mobile products, I finally moved to the Droid platform. I was very excited about trying the WinMo7 but my provider, Verizon will not be offering this phone anytime soon. And as I’ve taken years to get all my family and friends on Verizon, I’m not anxious to move to another service provider. So here are my first impressions on day two of owning this new phone. Note that I was going to wait for the 4G, but that’s at least six months away for my provider and more likely even longer.

Purchase

Kinda pricy even with the Verizon discount for being eligible for an upgrade. I ended up having problem with my Bluetooth device from my WinMo 6.5 phone, so I bought a new earpiece that was smaller and a better selection for listening to music. I am paying so much for the phone service with my four family members that they threw in a free car charger, but that didn’t make me feel much better. The staff was very knowledgeable but overtasked as there were a number of people in the Verizon store this weekend. As a big part of my job is about always being hooked into the community, the features this phone offered made it a slam dunk over my one year old WinMo 6.5 phone.

Setup

None of my data could be transferred from my WinMo 6.5 phone. I’m not sure what that was about but I have all the data backed up on other computers so I get to figure out how to do it manually. I was required to have a Gmail account, but I have accounts on many, many free providers services because I like to compare and contrast the experience for the different services. I don’t have a lot of data in that account so I linked my phone contacts to my Hotmail account and immediately picked up all of those entries. Then I connect them to Facebook and now I have all the contact pictures, if the Facebook user provided them.

Next I hooked up the phone to my computer and used V Cast (an app you install) to load the obligatory family and pet pictures, some song lists, and one video to test the performance. The unit has a 2 gB hard drive and a 6 gB flashcard so I have plenty of space for the kind of things I normally do with a phone.

The Experience

So as I type this blog post, I’m listening to my songs through the headset. A call comes in and I’m connected to the call and the music fades. I can listen to my music from my hard drive or if I have plenty of power, from an Internet source like Pandora. How cool is that? If you look at the picture of my Droid (luv that name btw) you can see I selected a custom wallpaper and business motif that allows me to have a clock based on where I am on this blue marble and one for my home base, in this case they are one and the same. I haven’t figured out how to hook up my calendar yet. I’d like to have my Hotmail calendar, with all my family and band dates as the primary and be able to switch over to the work calendar as necessary. I really don’t want to have to go to the Microsoft OWA (online web access) account to get those appointments. I’ll be playing with that in the near future.

I use the same holster from my WinMo phone and I didn’t chose the pop-out keyboard because once the data is in I rarely use the keyboard so the on screen one works better. But having texted, written email, and added a phone contact manually, I can tell you I like the feel of that keyboard. I’m not as fast as I am on my computer, but I’m close enough.

The Reviews

I haven’t read all the reviews yet, but I did check this one out before I bought. And of course I’ve been playing with Suzy’s 3G Droid ever since she bought it earlier this year.

Droid Incredible Review sez:

By Joshua Topolsky posted Apr 19th 2010 12:28AM

“Let’s just put this out there: the Droid Incredible is the best Android device that you can purchase in America right now. It’s better than the Droid, better than the Nexus One, and certainly beats the pants off of any previous generation handsets like the Eris, myTouch, or Cliq. It’s not just a very, very good Android phone (though it is); it’s also an excellent smartphone no matter how you cut it. If you’re on Verizon right now, you’re finally getting really great options for phones, but the Incredible is currently sitting at the top of that heap with a good bit of distance to the next in line.

Sure, there are still issues like a lack of quality titles in the Android Market, and if a hardware keyboard is a must, this won’t do the job for you. Also, while Sense is truly great on this phone, there may be users who prefer a more streamlined, stripped down experience. Still, if you’re looking for an ultra-fast, extremely capable smartphone that has the guts and gleam to go the distance, the Incredible just might be the Droid you’re looking for. Yes, we made that joke.”

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Cell phone, Droid, Facebook, Google, Hotmail, Mobile, review, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Droid 3G Incredible ~ A 2010 Review

  1. Steve Riddle says:

    Enjoy the new Droid ! You made a excellent decision . I am going back and forth myself over which new phone to get ( Droid II or Incredible ) . Currently, I have a HTC Hero , rooted with Froyo on it . Don’t get me wrong, it’s like a new phone since I did a little bit of “hacking” to it , however, I really want something newer ! My wife says that I am a kid ( 36 years young) but I can’t help it ….. Nice article .

Leave a Reply

