Yeah, a paid gig!

So Alan pings me yesterday and sez, “Hey Jim, we need an alto sax sub this Saturday. We’ll pay you to do this gig.” Sweet. Here were my questions:

1. Is this a two hour (two one hour sets) gig? (I don’t do longer gigs any more. I just don’t enjoy them.)

2. What time does it start and finish? (I try to get home before mid-night now a days.)

3. Dress is black on black with a white tie. (Have, have, and have.)

4. Practice is two hours. (Don’t want any death marches.)

5. No doubles this time, just the alto sax. (Less to carry and worry about.)

image

I like playing with other Big Bands because it gives me ideas for the Microsoft Jazz Band which I manage and play in. I also can find potential subs for when my people are not available for a gig. One time, when this group wasn’t practicing for a gig, I was able to bring a chart for them to try. I brought Gerry Mulligan’s “The Red Door” and they enjoyed it so much they played it twice.

From their site: The Moonlight Swing Orchestra consists of an eclectic group of musicians-instrumentalists and vocalists-many with professional experience, and the rest, talented amateurs, who all share the same love of performing this nostalgic music from the Big Bands of the 30’s and 40’s. Hear the great sounds of Dorsey, Ellington, Miller, and Shaw, among others. We also admit to throwing in the occasional popular number from more recent eras.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Band, Jazz, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

