The Frankentenor by JBT

More tales from the Woodwind Forum, this one from John and touching my luv of vintage sax patinas and custom engraving:

Jason Dumars is the one who deserves the credit. He is a gifted artist and craftsman of the highest caliber, and a real nice guy to boot.

Another quick story. I decided to sell an old Conn tenor on SOTW that I pieced together from two junker horns picked up in pawnshops. I took the best parts from each and made a playable sax that I named "Frankentenor". The lacquer had come off in many spots where the brass turned reddish brown and it was "butt ugly", but it played really well. To my surprise Jason Dumars jumped right on it and said he wanted to buy it. He and I worked out a deal where the tenor would be a down payment for a future engraving job (my SBA).

image

I though no more about it until in a thread on SOTW entitled "The most beautiful saxophone in the world", I saw a post contributed by Jason Dumars in which I recognized my "ugly duckling" Conn "Frankentenor" which he had transformed into a work of art. ~ JBTsax

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Saxophone. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

