Tag Clouds and Wordle.net

Every once in a while I like to play with tag cloud generators. A tag cloud or word cloud is a visual depiction of user-generated tags, or simply the word content of a site, typically used to describe the content of web sites. Tags are usually single words and are normally listed alphabetically, and the importance of a tag is shown with font size or color.

So I looked up the Wordle.net sight and took a snapshot of my site as of today. The orientation and color palate is adjustable but in this instance I went with the defaults. I’m hoping the old in this cloud relates to vintage instruments and not old people. ;O)

image

This other Wordle snapshot was taken of my blog in Dec 2008. There is a lot of commonality in these two clouds. I’m thinking of using this to create band fronts for the Microsoft Jazz Band. I’ve actually generated the cloud but now I have to figure out how to blow it up 4 times larger. Oh, did I mention the concert is this Thursday? I’ve been working on the band stand fronts for about a year now. I just haven’t stumbled upon a solution that I like… so far.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Everyday Science. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

