New Toy: Vintage Schwinn ‘57 Wasp 26” Balloon Tire Bicycle

I recently purchased a 1957 Schwinn Wasp that I hope to ride in Redmond’s Derby Daze parade next month. Anyone else riding vintage bikes on that day let me know and we’ll hook up. The bike has nice S-2 rims, the chrome is in fair condition, and the paint is excellent. Actually the bike is way too pretty to be all original, don’t you think?

image

I started to research more about this Schwinn Cruiser at the Schwinn Forums. The advent of the Internet has opened up the vintage bicycle hobby to more people and finding parts and bikes is very easy. But the popularity driven by Baby Boomers has made this a fairly expensive hobby now-a-days. Don’t get me wrong there are still great deals out there but they are getting harder to find.

image image

image image

I purchased a Schwinn Phantom back rack with light assembly to add to this bike. I also am considering a two-speed kick back hub to replace the single speed one on the bike. I have seen some folks put a nice 7-speed hub on their vintage bikes, but I’m loath to do that to this bike that so far as I can tell has all vintage parts on it.

As I researched this bike on the Internet, I have found many vintage Schwinn Wasp bikes but none that looks like this one. Ah, I’se luvs a mystery.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Bicycles, Health and wellness, Hobbies, Lifestyle, Vintage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New Toy: Vintage Schwinn ‘57 Wasp 26” Balloon Tire Bicycle

  1. Pingback: The Typewriter: Icon or just Art? | The Bis Key Chronicles

  2. Janie says:

    My boss is looking for a 1957 Schwinn that is a 2 speed with balloon tires and some type of gears on the handle bars. I have been researching some items and sent him pics, but nothing yet. Does anyone have any idea where I could look? Could the gears on the handle bars be some type of addition?

    • jma says:

      Hi, John / San Diego . . . I rode stuff like this from 1964 to 1972. Schwinn bikes and their OPTIONS were many and various. I rode many bikes with many of the qualities that you describe – – – but NONE with ALL of the qualities that you describe. YOU are looking for TWO or maybe THREE different machines. I was a PAPERBOY – – as was my brother – – – as was his best friend- – – as was MY best friend. AND many other PALS – – (RIP – Dennis- the ONLY paperboy in the neighborhood with a NEW Schwinn bike ! ? ! WOW). I’m now 61 y-o – – – and my spine problems might be partly due to the hours spent aboard that (nay-many) SCHWINN bikes. (Nov-1970 / I could have DIED ! I thought the WASP-Springer forks were invincable – – – Mr. Gravity said, “Huh-NO. Not today. ”

      ‘Ever seen that movie about the RED RIDER BB RIFLE / ? ? Welll – ll – – – for SOME of us, our TRUSTY PAPERBIKES were just as important. They were a TOOL to help us do a JOB – – and also a VEHICLE to ride-away from that NAGGING woman (mom) who NEVER stopped talking. NEVER ! Really. jma

  3. Gandalfe says:

    eBay is probably your best bet. You can also check out the Two Spoke forum at http://www.twospoke.com/forum/.

  4. Pingback: My ‘79 Trek Needs some serious road time | The Bis Key Chronicles

  5. Pingback: Bicycle Goals for 2012 | The Bis Key Chronicles

  6. Amy says:

    To best of my knowledge the Wasp did not have a tank that came standard with it, but as it says on the Schwinn catalogs, equipment subject to change without notice.

  7. Gandalfe says:

    If you go far enough back there a number of photos with the Schwinn Wasp with a tank. Who knows if it was a special options?

Leave a Reply

