Would you buy a pre-owned BMW?

bmwI don’t think we’ll ever see this ad in the U.S. It’s BMW Germany ‘s campaign for their factory approved "pre-owned" cars. I remember how shocking Europe was to my wife and I when I was stationed in Germany in the 70’s and then again in the 80’s. There was nudity every where, even in down town Munich where nudists lounged in the main city park that you walked by to get the Museum of Technology.

I remember taking my seven year old daughter to the public bathrooms in the main part in Nuremberg and running into a senior lady walking out of the facilities totally naked. I mean, I must of blushed so red that you could have used my face as a stop light. I don’t think my daughter even really said anything, but I was so embarrassed.

The ads in Europe are the same way. If there’s a shower scene, nudity is obligatory. There are building-sized signs with nudity playing a big part of the experience. And the works of the masters are more exposed than not. As I get older this doesn’t seem to effect me as much. But this campaign reminds me of the Cosmo-kind of article that might be titled something like, “10 things a Man Thinks When he Sees a Naked You”. Um, I’m thinking there is probably much less than 10 things in most men’s minds. But I have to wonder, if this campaign was aimed at women, which it clearly isn’t, what would that look like?

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Too Spicy for some. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Would you buy a pre-owned BMW?

  1. Graham says:

    You’ve got to give it to the Germans. They know how to advertise. That German does. You’ve got to give it to that German.

  2. aneeta says:

    i would like to believe that nude is the base, and clothes are the add ons.and wanting to go back to nude is wanting to go back to natural.

Leave a Reply

