Portals done old-school

I talk about certain laptops being portals and not much more. By that I mean that the computer isn’t really powerful or fast enough to run much more than the Internet browser. But that is a very valuable device for people on low or fixed incomes who want to keep up with what’s happening out there.

When I saw this picture today, I thought of old-school architectural portals, the kind you never see in the US. I suppose the people who walk through this daily don’t give it much thought. I mean, could you ever get used to beauty like this? But to me, it is just a wonder to behold, treasure, and build stories around.

image

Ireland by Julie Yack

I do notice the runoff problem that created a step obstacle in the walkway, but that would be easy to fix without ruining the scenery with modern culverts or concrete. Marvel at the arch though, how strong is that shape to have lasted as long as has. And it doesn’t look like they used mortar for the archway stones; they appear to be held there by precision form-work and good design.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

