Unvarnished.com: You want the truth; you can’t take the truth!

When I was a cadet attending the ROTC Summer Camp two catastrophic things happened. First Mt. St. Helens erupted spewing ash all over the western US. Secondly, the curriculum included a peer rating system. After a few weeks of working together, you rated the 30 people in your platoon from top to bottom. I did not look forward to this. The Special Forces officer and sergeant who were to give me my results asked, “How do you think you did?”

I mumbled something about being stack dab in the middle. I figured that most people either hated or loved me, there was rarely any middle ground. I thought I saw them blink when I expressed this and they said, this survey confirmed that for me. I would like to think that I’m less harsh on those I don’t respect so that today there are more people in the middle ground. But that could just be wishful thinking on my part. I do find myself fortunate that my wife and some friends lessen the impact of Jim (the hammer) Glass.

I saw this today and was reminded of my peer rating experience. I got off lightly btw; there were folks (in the bottom third) who were devastated by the peer review. These were private reports. Now imagine them being made available to the world:

Social Networking Site or Rumor Mill? Unvarnished Lets You Burn – and Be Burned

Picture this: You and another coworker are vying for the same promotion, but your boss awards it to you. Your coworker congratulates you through gritted teeth, then logs on to a new corporate-inspired burn book, and blasts you for "sleeping your way to a promotion that you didn’t deserve."

Sound far-fetched?

Not anymore. Today, Unvarnished made its debut. Unvarnished is an anonymous social network (think: LinkedIn meets Yelp review features) where professionals can praise—or criticize—past or present coworkers. Right now, the site is in invite-only beta (so you can breathe a momentary sigh of relief). But you can join the waiting list by visiting the site, or wait for a private alpha user to request a review from you via Facebook.

Once you’re a member, you can choose to claim your profile (which gives you "super user" privileges, which include updates, ability to comment and request new reviews), but with a catch: You have to accept every post people have submitted—the good, the bad and the ugly. And once you’ve claimed your profile, there’s not taking it down; it’s there forever, the company says.

If you choose not to join, people can still post about you. You just won’t have the opportunity to add anything yourself. It’s an unappetizing situation, either way.

Read more…

I just don’t see an upside. There seem to be quite a few sites out there for rating you and your co-workers (a Yelp.com of sorts, only for people). In addition there is http://www.medentify.com/  that rates people by phone number or email and also http://www.coworkers.com/ that does co-worker feedback.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Unvarnished.com: You want the truth; you can’t take the truth!

  1. Greg says:

    This is evil. There are too many opportunities on the net already for people’s worst behaviors to be supported and even encouraged. The best thing I can say about it is that people with brains will realize that and take NOTHING on the site seriously.

  2. JaAG says:

    I really wonder, as do others, if this is a site designed to drive business to lawyers. Hey, I’m suing you because you said this and I didn’t get that job. Geesh.

  3. john says:

    Some day people will listen to Shakespeare, Kill the lawyers.very good advice.majority of shills in DC are lawyers and look where they lead ussecond note, be willing to state a position without fear of retaliationsites like this are hide behind mommy’s skirts

  4. Maria says:

    It just seems like a way for the bullies and the bitches to be malicious towards their co-workers without comeback…I like you can’t see what good could come from a site such as this and in the unlikely event that I were to be invited to join would in no way wish to participate. Few of us really know what others think of us or say behind our backs…I for one am not sure I’d want too, especially via something like this

  5. JaAG says:

    Maria, you can often tell what people ‘probably’ say about you by how they talk about others. Very telling that…

  6. Shaz says:

    What an absolutely hideous idea!! I can’t even imagine what might come of this. If you can’t say it to a face, you have no business saying it at all. Not to worry though Jaagers, you’ll always be at the top of the stack in my book 😉

  7. JaAG says:

    Shaz, I luv’d it when you picked one of my band pics as your Facebook profile; way cool.

  8. Deb's says:

    I’ve only ever stumbled across a few people who have used their sites in such a manner both on WLS and on facebook… the problem with that kind of blog is that negativity breeds negativity… and venomous comments has a tendency to spread like a bush fire. I ran across a site years ago, where this guy had decided that he did not like my site or more to the point my blogs… and the only reason I knew anything about him was the fact he had visited my site quite regularly over the course of a week. anyway he tore my blog to pieces and at first I was quite upset… even left in tears and returned when I had calmed down. I read through a few of his blogs and everyone of them was the same… he was tearing apart people he knew nothing about after only reading a couple of their blogs.. even if he had read their entire archives he still had no right to the level of character assassination he was so hell bent on. he just struck me as a sad little man… and rather than risk blogging about something real…like his own life, the only thing he was equipped to do was to tear people apart. so the idea of sites being set up with the sole intention of putting people down speaks volumes of the mentality of those that have formed the sites in the first place. I’ve waffled on enough… lolhave a great day(hugs)DebsxXx

Leave a Reply

