san·guine [ sáng gwin ]

image adjective 

Definition:

1. confident: cheerfully optimistic

2. ruddy: flushed with a healthy rosy color
a sanguine complexion

3. blood red: of a blood red color

4. bloodthirsty: eager to shed blood ( archaic )

5. physiology history having blood as dominant humor: in medieval physiology, having blood as the dominant humor and therefore characterized by a ruddy complexion and a courageous, optimistic, and romantic temperament

[14th century. Via French< Latin sanguin-, stem of sanguis "blood"]

san·guine·ly adverb

san·guine·ness noun

san·guin·i·ty [ sang gwínnətee ] noun

Here’s a word that seems more melodic than descriptive to me this morning. Trivia question: anyone get the picture connection to the word ‘sanguine’? Here’s a clue, it’s from a movie.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to san·guine [ sáng gwin ]

  1. JaAG says:

    The Baguette buffet pictures really make me hungry right now. I’m not sure what that’s about; maybe it’s ‘cuz I only had some crackers for lunch.

  2. JaAG says:

    Clue #1 – "Remember, remember the fifth of November," for on this day, in 2020, the minds of the masses shall be set free.

  3. Maria says:

    Morning Jim…I can’t see the picture, but as you mentioned a movie, V for Vendetta springs to mind..

  4. JaAG says:

    You are correct Maria. That is one of the pictures that popped up when I Bing pictures for the word ‘sanguine’. It’s that strange?

  5. Maria says:

    LOL…I can see the picture now….I think that would have helped clarify my answer had I seen it earlier, though it was your clue that gave it away ;o) and yes you’re right..it is strange how random things get associated online.

  6. Deb's says:

    I was too late to answer the movie question… but I watched the DVD recently. have a great weekend.hugsx

  7. Graham says:

    Ah. I’ve never seen V for Vendetta. I read two reviews and decided against it. Easily swayed.

Leave a Reply

