Twitter clout and Land Lines

Alltop’s Holy Kaw talks about measuring your clout on Twitter. With so many people using new social media channels, experimenting with the new paradigm, this is a good read. It’s not for the faint of heart either.

image

My friends and I were talking about the changes in communication in the 21st century. I’ve already noted that most people under 30 no longer own a land line opting instead for a cell phone. I haven’t given up mine at work or home yet. Now I’m hearing about kids under 20 no longer using email in favor of social media sites like Facebook and Twitter. I’m not sure that would work for me. No, no I *do not* feel like an oldster. Really! <Shakes fist at the kids in the yard and yells> “Get off my lawn.”  :o)

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Twitter clout and Land Lines

  1. Maria says:

    Ah Jim…I think those that truly like to communicate, will embrace tecnology to a certain extent while remain well versed in the art of good old fashioned conversation…Personally I couldn’t live without it.Gotta admit though I do use a lot of the social network sites, do not own a land line, or a cell phone, and rarely e-mail. Jeez even Isound like one of those "oldsters" now…..Oh no..that’s me you’re chasing off your lawn…Phew!! ;o)

  2. JaAG says:

    Maria, you are making me laugh at work. Oh no! :o)

  3. Deb's says:

    lmao… I still have a landline, but I no longer use email preferring the use of the private messaging on WLS and facebook as a means of communication, also my mobile is used for contacts from my sites as and when anyone wants to have a natter.is that you shaking your at me too… lol

  4. Deb's says:

    fist… shaking your fist at me…. dear gods…lol

  5. JaAG says:

    See now I was gonna be good and not say anything… ;0)

  6. Jim says:

    Only the wealthy have a lawn to shake a fist at. Share it and embrace the change. Dad

Leave a Reply

