Avatar Fun (the Movie)

I’ve set my screensaver and desk top to an Avatar the movie theme. For some reason the idea that humans engage in mining Pandora’s reserves of a precious mineral, while the Na’vi—a race of indigenous humanoids—resist the colonists’ expansion, which threatens the continued existence of the Na’vi and the Pandoran ecosystem seems more Earth-based than extra terrestrial. It is not a leap for me to imagine a big company doing that to whomever they could, not too unlike the U.S. banks.

Avatar

I find myself looking at the ears wondering how they hid the actors real ears. There is no tell tale bulge that I can see. I’m guessing the alien ears are higher and brought forward and the real ears are in the hair of these creatures. The eyes seem cat-like in size without the cool slit pupils. I wonder if early incarnations of the Na’vi were more cat-like especially in the eyes.

Although Suzy and I found the plot to be weak and predictable, the wide planet vistas, Na’vi clothing and traditions were fascinating. We think it will be one of the most highly rated movies this season.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Avatar Fun (the Movie)

  1. Greg says:

    The Na’vi are totally computer generated.

  2. JaAG says:

    Yes, as Suzy and I talked about this yesterday I dawned on me, hey these are animation. I knew that! That’s how good the animations have become.

Leave a Reply

