Style Whisperer

I saw this on facebook today:

Picture Show: Fashion Week On The Streets With ‘The Sartorialist – Today marks the first day of New York Fashion Week. To celebrate, The Picture Show caught up with Scott Schuman, style blogger and photographer of ‘The Sartorialist,’ about street photography, his new book and this week’s events.

It was a good read. And this is just a reminder to myself to read more of the Sartorialist this weekend. Looks fascinating. Can you imagine me wearing a shirt and tie like that? I can.  :o)

image image image

This cameraman has a keen eye and his commentary on the Glamour cover looks to be interesting too. When it comes to style, I’m just not trackin’. But I know what I like and will often get Suzy to help me track down an item that catches my eye. If we can’t find it, she will often create it for me. Now if only I could find that cool, retro hat from last night’s “Leverage” episode.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Style Whisperer

  1. Graham says:

    There’s a man at ease with his dress sense!Re the camera, I have a horrible feeling that I can’t trust the card anymore, so have already got a replacement. The last picture I took before it went bad on me was taken into a window just as the sun came throught the clouds, so I’m not sure if it was a light induced psychotic episode. I’ll not use it again for important pictures again for a while. Do you think it’s advisable to walk the streets of New York photographing strangers? Do you think I should try it?And thanks, I think they’re nice kids too, in a totally unbiased kind of way!

  2. Deb's says:

    I’m guessing someone with a sense of humour dresses that man! ;))I was never a follower of fashion more into the classic styles and cuts, always have been, but then I’ve never had the finances to indulge in the exploration of fashion and its constant changes, says she who still has clothes in her wardrobe from 10 years ago… lol have a great day hugsdebsxXx

  3. JaAG says:

    Witchy, when I married Suzy she still had clothing from Jr. High School in her closet. Of course it meant those dresses became mini-skirts over the years. Me, I buy stuff mostly to replace worn out clothing. But every once in a while I spluge. This year I bought 3 Tommy Bahama shirts (average price $20, list $100+) off eBay. And I think it is a brave man to dress like that fellow or the lady in the middle too for that matter. :o)

  4. Deb's says:

    lmao … we all dress like the lady in the middle, we just don’t wear that look in public ;)) as for the man… brave is one way of putting it, ;)) the only thing that doesn’t work for me is the shirt other than that he cuts quite a handsome figure. and the woman in the middle could be seen as the braver of the lot, but some would argue that most people shouldnt be seen in public in lycra ;))

  5. Maria says:

    Hey my belly looks like that LOL…I do like the black jacket though… I quite like Jackets anyway…my personal favourite being a velvet military jacket Paddy bought me a few years ago… When it comes to my own style…I don’t think I have one and tend to pick most stuff up from retro or second hand shops..I sort of move between hippy/grunge/rockchick/classic fifties style and downright slob …Whearas Paddy will always be a Levi’s, Jeans Reebok trainers, and Ben Sherman shirts kinda man…:)

  6. JaAG says:

    Still, I was toying with the idea that all the guys in my 4-horn jazz combo where red shoes like the lady in the third picture. ;o)

  7. Deb's says:

    way back in the eighties i had a pair of shoes similar to those red ones, but mine were blue and nearly as bright as her oufit colour too, used to wear them as chefs shoes cos i couldnt wear the clogs my head chef used to try and force me to wear, nasty things they were like instruments of toture when you’re on your feet for about 14 hours a day.x

Leave a Reply

