The Dissonance buys a Upright Bass

Bass As most of you know I have a music studio on the first floor of my house. So far I have sound molded it (with various foam, curtain, and such devices), had a drummer friend of mine help me purchase and place a jazz drum set, purchased a Roland keyboard, and purchased a bass amp, sound system, mixer, mics and speakers. My band mates in the rhythm section, except for the bass player could show up after work and just start playing without schlepping their gear around.

So I starting pricing basses and they were pricy. I had gotten most of the other stuff at 50% or more off the normal prices because I wasn’t in a hurry and could wait for the sales. So when something like the Bellafina Model Bass was offered at under $500 I decided to leap. Shipping was another $200 and then I had Brad take it to his string repair tech in Everett to fix the bridge and put a pickup on the instrument. When it was all said and done, I had just under $1000 invested in the instrument. After about six months we took it back to the tech to finish adjust ments and now the bass is set for a while.

peavy

I then got a Peavy bass guitar which I keep in the studio too, just in case the is a player who prefers it. That cost me $60 at a pawn shop which was a very good deal if you ask me. So matched up with a 400 watt Behringer bass amp, this is a very phat sound.

I wouldn’t have considered this except this matched the setup my bass guy for the Dissonance has and he is kind of an expert on guitars and basses. He plays a number of Frankenstein setups like a guitar with two strings for bass and four for guitar on the same instrument. So far, no one has complained about the bass setup and all appreciate not having to carry their gear to a practice.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Dissonance buys a Upright Bass

  1. JaAG says:

    One of these days I should take pictures and provide a post about the music studio. I’ve been working on it for two years now and it is almost done.

Leave a Reply

