Facebook: Just Blather?

My coworker and friend Renee notes her fav quote: “But we’re not knocking it. Facebook is all about lesser friends, and there’s nothing wrong with second-tier.” Ouch! This from this article on MSN Tech:

image Facebook Updates: What Kind Do You Write?

After using Facebook for a while, you notice that people tend to say the same things over and over in their status updates. They are bored at work, they’re behind on sleep, they have big news ─ or they just want to tell you how generally cool life is. We take a look at the 10 most common kinds of Facebook updates.

I gotta tell you, I wish I had said much of this to my Facebook peeps. Instead I will tell you how I cull my stream (on the home page) so that I only see posts from my bestest family and friends. I have told this to so many friends that I thought I’d post it for you.

1. Prune your friend list at least twice a year. If they haven’t said anything memorable in a year, they’re gone. Be brutal unless they are family.

2. On the HOME page when a person or comment comes that you don’t want to see in the future, glide your mouse cursor over the right-hand side of the comment where you can then see HIDE. Select the person, app, or both and you’ll not see them anymore.

That’s it. And it makes my time on Facebook short and to the point. I have found that many people are using Facebook en lieu of blogs or even email. Who’da thought.   :o)

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Facebook: Just Blather?

  1. Brent says:

    I use these same techniques and the help alot. I find facebook folks to be more interested in quick touch points than in developing ideas and being creative. Facebook has a slight strength for collaboration, in that once one has made a comment then they are automatically notified of other comments on the same topic. That is really the only differentiating feature I find on facebook. Well, I guess it is also a bit less intimidating for tech adverse folks to get started with. Otherwise, it is pretty restrictive on those who like to creat a an environment. My main beef with Facebook is all those friggin worthless apps that people seem to like. I cannot image it. Maw Gawd…

  2. L says:

    Good advice Jim and thanks for telling me earlier this week about hiding apps! I routinely do with people (usually those who cross post at twitter, don’t need to see it twice) but didn’t know I could do it with apps. My home page is much better now! I agree with Brent about the apps… though I must confess I am guilty of passing a drink to friends. Apps and I are parting company.

  3. Cliffordino says:

    I found Facebook to be filled with the trivia and minutiae of everyday life: what was cooked for dinner, what kind of cheese the baby likes, a link to some youtube vid, how soccer practice went today, etc. It was not a place to have any kind of meaningful interaction. A friend of mine pointed out that "Facebook makes email and blogging look like quill pen on parchment, by comparison." :-)

Leave a Reply

