Windows 7: Now my peeps can be first and save half.

Win7

Many of you may have heard about the awesome pricing for Windows 7 that Microsoft is offering to customers for the next 10 days. The offer will be available from online retailers and directly from Microsoft through the Microsoft Store. Most of my family and friends are all over this so I thought I’d put it out there for my Windows Spaces family.

Windows 7: Be first. Save half.

Pre-order Windows 7 today at the Microsoft Store. You’ll get it for at least half off and be one of the first to get it. Hurry, quantities are limited.*

It’s pretty simple

Windows 7 is coming on October 22, 2009. Here’s an easy way to get it fast and save a bundle: Pre-order a Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade for $49 or a Windows 7 Professional Upgrade for $99 at the Microsoft Store.   That’s about half off the estimated retail prices.

Want more info? 

Go to the Windows team blog and find out all the details. 

* The offer begins on June 26, 2009 and will continue while supplies last, or until July 11, 2009, whichever comes first.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Windows 7: Now my peeps can be first and save half.

  1. JaAG says:

    Notice that I didn’t say Michael Jackson even once. I’m so proud of myself. Doh!

  2. JaAG says:

    I guess I should take Farrah’s poster down too. :o(

  3. L says:

    Well here’s what I’m unsure about:If you have Windows Vista, you can purchase Windows 7 Upgrade versions. You can do a clean install (back up your files, clean install, and reinstall your applications) or an in-place upgrade (Windows 7 installs over Windows Vista).If I purchase the upgrade version I know that’s not a "clean" install which I assume is the better way of doing it. Is the upgrade version going to slow things down or mess things up? I don’t know what to do.

  4. JaAG says:

    It really depend, it think, on how complex your installations are and if your computer, software you need, and peripherals are some esoteric stuff that very few people know about. Plain Jane computers (Dell, Lenova, etc.) should be fine. MS Word, IE, and such should be fine. Daddo-Word Processor on a BoxOclocks computer with a LeanNmean photon drive, … that I’d be worried about in more ways than one.

  5. JaAG says:

    Sigh, … I really need an editor don’t I. Elaine, you are computer savvy enough, do the upgrade. You’ll be fine.

  6. L says:

    Thanks Jim for your reply. Think I will order the upgrade version. Hubby is waiting for it to come as out as well since he wants a new home laptop and of course wants it with windows 7. Hope you’re having a good weekend.

  7. Deb says:

    I just heard on tv my computer might be at risk as I have XP, although mine is 2002, not 2003. Am I safe?

  8. JaAG says:

    As long as you are running a decent virus protection program, not clicking on links in emails from people you don’t know, and staying away from sites that you aren’t familiar with, you are probably okay. You do update the signatures for your virus detector on a regular basis right?

Leave a Reply

