Good Girls do not get on Slides

Firstly, I stole this title from Zep because it just made me laugh. Zep is a fellow with which English is a second language for him. Me, I have no excuses for my use of the English language.

So one of those girls would be KimP who sent me a bunch of sax quartet audio recordings to listen to. It was fun, but I’m spoiled. I prefer videos because I can tell so much more from a good video. In a video you can often see a players reaction to a mistake or how they internalize rhythm. In that vein I share one of my quartet videos.

This is  a session with the Professor Gadget Sax Quartet, a fledgling group that meets once a month every once in a while. It is a rare piece where I actually agree to play the soprano, not my best instrument to say the least.

Putting something like this out there is like baring one’s soul or going on a slide with a dress on. Many hobbyists refuse to record themselves but I find it both a very humbling experience and a good learning tool.

Be well my friends.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Saxophone. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Good Girls do not get on Slides

  1. Zeynep says:

    Hahaha!.. You confused me now. Is there any mistake on that sentence? If you say yes, I will chuck one of my dictionaries out Jaag. On the other hand, please give me a link about that video. I think it is You Tube and You Tube videos are still banned by this area. But if you send me a link, I will watch it via hidemyass!

  2. Zeynep says:

    By the way, My title is "Good girls do not get on THE slıdes" exactly.

  3. JaAG says:

    Oops, hit the up arrow in the bottom right corner to get properties of the vid. I should test this stuff before I respond.

  4. JaAG says:

    This title is so outta the 50s, it just makes me laugh.

  5. Deb says:

    Jim, that was a sad peice.

Leave a Reply

