Poland, home to storks, castles, and lost bus drivers

Poland brought us to the medieval castle of Malbork located near the city of Gdansk. I must have taken over 300 pictures of the castle before we even got to Gdansk to view the Church of Mary.

Malbork

DSCF2107   DSCF2113 DSCF2092  

We spent much of our time on the bus in between locations because our bus drive kept taking the wrong turns. After about the fourth wrong turn which where the correct location was well marked we started getting nervous. Finally the tour guide took to watch the  bus driver and giving his spiel. It was amazing and had me wondering who this fellow knew to get a premium job like this is Poland.

DSCF2175  DSCF2181 DSCF2184 

We had lunch at the castle with a three piece string trio, local beers and food. I looked at the music of the musicians, I’d been doing this all along and rather than the hand written songs I had been seeing, I saw a standard three staff trio piece that looked like it had been copied from a Rubanks or some such lesson book. I will be posting videos of the medieval music on my YouTube account once I get back to my ultra-fast FiOS connection at home.

DSCF2245 StringTrio DSCF2237

Once in Gdansk we had a whirlwind tour of the Church of Mary and the Market and Long Streets.

DSCF2367  GdanskMarket DSCF2340

I’ve received some comments about the pictures I am planning on posting on my Flickr account. The Internet is so slow here, I am going to have to wait to post until we get back to the States.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Poland, home to storks, castles, and lost bus drivers

  1. L says:

    I love seeing all your pictures! Have been showing them to Gene too. Will look forward to seeing them at Flickr, speaking of which you won’t believe this. Remember when I was in DC in April for the Cherry Blossom Festival? I posted pics at my Flickr album. Well this week I received an email from a lady in DC that works for a tourist guidebook and they were interested in using one of my photos if I gave permission. They don’t pay for it’s use but will give me credit. The one they were interested in … the Dept of Agriculture, could have fooled me. Anyway I said yes and will be notified by the end of the month if my photo is selected in the final process.

  2. JaAG says:

    Doesn’t surprise me; you’re an artist of the highest order. I’ve know that from day one of our relationship. :o)

  3. Graham says:

    Malbork? There’s somewhere to add to the list of places to visit. Hoping you’re enjoying your travels.

  4. Bertie says:

    How interesting! Love that Polish girl in Blue. What a wonderful trip for you all. Dharma was on the D.R. table yesterday but went to the window before I left. She was still chattering about where were her people?

  5. kitten says:

    Darling I am so looking forward to many more lovely pictures but I cannot wait to read the tales you will tell…Hugs Catherine

Leave a Reply

