Why Goodreads.com

"And what gift of America to the rest of the world is actually most appreciated by the rest of the world? It is African American jazz and its offshoots. What is my definition of jazz? "Safe sex of the highest order."" — Kurt Vonnegut (Armageddon in Retrospect)

Last we whilst (okay I stole whilst from a British blogger :o) peeking at my Dad’s reading list I took the opportunity to invite a heck of a lot of people from my Hotmail address book to Goodreads.com. I thought that almost all if not everyone would ignore it. Wow was I wrong. So many people joined up that I have been busy catching up on what my friends and family have been reading.

goodread

My Dad turned me on to this addictive little site, but then he has pretty much stopped using it. Maybe this post will get him started again. The quote is from the site to. There is a ‘fav quote’ part to your profile page and this turned up when I searched on ‘jazz’. I’m still waiting to see one of my fav bloggers, Graham, build his list. Maybe I can get Witchy on there too.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Hobbies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why Goodreads.com

  1. Deb's says:

    hi there Jim, I did used to have a book list on my Live site too, but to be honest I never thought anyone showed any interest so it was deleted a while back. I’m hanging my head in shame at my lack of reading of late, my last read was Terry Pratchett’s – Reaper man, but I couldn’t get into it, so it looks like its going to be another of his works that is picked up and tried on every now and again.I may give it another go later today… lolhave a great day hugsdebsxXx

Leave a Reply

