YouTube as a Musical Reference

image I use YouTube.com a lot as a musician. If I have a new chart to work up or a solo to cover in a jazz band, I’ll go to my CD collection and YouTube to find something I like. Part of that research is done through my YouTube portal at http://www.youtube.com/Gandalfe where I keep my musical bookmarks, subscriptions and the videos I’ve posted.

Once a month or so I get an email from YouTube with highlights from the people who’s videos I subscribe to and it looks like this. From there I cherry pick the new videos and listen to them, promote them on Twitter or Facebook.

Many of the YouTubeage videos that I’ve discovered for vintage jazz are performances I would have never seen, often taken at jazz festivals overseas, or recorded years ago off of black and white TV. Fascinating stuff, if’n you ask me.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Jazz. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to YouTube as a Musical Reference

  1. Brent says:

    Interesting. I’ve never dug into youtube beyond fundamental search on a topic. Thanks for the insight.

Leave a Reply

