How to buy a kid a car

Question from a friend of mine: Melissa’s car is dying. Those b@stards want a ton of money to revive it (one more time). I need to buy her a reliable car for under $5000. Any advice on how I would go about finding a good deal? I looked at Craig’s list for cars sold by owners and although the prices were better than offered by the dealers, they were still a bit high I think.

My response:

AutoTrader.com came up with 2326 used listings within 50 miles of our zip for cars under $5000.

I’m sure you know this but once you find a car check:

1. Does the owner have maintenance record? If not, could be trouble.

2. Will the owner allow you to take to your mech (only give mech up to 2 hours). If no, walk.

3. Buy the April ’09 Consumer Reports auto issue on stands now and look at their best recommendations for cars under $5000. (This is something Andy taught me years ago.)

4. Check for lemon status based on the VIN in #3

Good luck.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to buy a kid a car

  1. Rambling says:

    all excellent advice. I wouldn’t buy a car without those caveats.

Leave a Reply

