Oddee.com: Ten Most Unique Churches

My mom recently got an email that highlighted ten of the most unique churches in the world. She knows that I am very interested in Architecture and this write up was stellar. But it was a direct lift from the always fascinating Oddee.com. Why don’t people give credit to the writer or company that produces these things? It would be so easy to do and I think is the right thing to do.

My favorite church on the list reminds me of something you might see in a Lord of the Rings movie, with hobbits milling about outside the church:

BorgundChurch

The article states, “The Borgund Stave Church in Lærdal is the best preserved of Norway’s 28 extant stave churches. This wooden church, probably built in the end of the 12th century, has not changed structure or had a major reconstruction since the date it was built. The church is also featured as a Wonder for the Viking civilization in the video game Age of Empires II: The Age of Kings.”

I think my grandson Nicky would have recognized it from the Age of Empires video game.  :o)

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Photograph. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Oddee.com: Ten Most Unique Churches

  1. L says:

    Wow is right! I love exploring old churches when I travel, doesn’t matter what denomination. Thanks for the interesting post. And by the way have NO idea why people do not provide the link! I once received a wonderful email closing with a little poem. Now the person who sent the email I was pretty sure did not write poetry. So I asked her…"did you write that wonderful poem?" she replied back no. I did go on to say well you really should include the author. Perhaps I shouldn’t have said anything, but I couldn’t keep my mouth shut <go figure>.

  2. Deb's says:

    you really have a desire to be a hobbit dont you… lmao. i thought you were joking…lol, ;))excellent picture of the church though and it is one that would be amazing to visit, is it still used as a church or a tourist attraction?have a great day love n hugsdebsxXx

  3. Beth says:

    Amazing!!

  4. Jade says:

    wow, those are cool!

  5. Rambling says:

    I LOVE this!!! I am so glad you put it here for us.

  6. Graham says:

    The Norwegians surely know how to build a church. They’re very good with herrings, too.

  7. Molly says:

    We visited a Stave Church when we were in Norway. Was really neat to see! Amazing outside and inside too!

  8. kitten says:

    This truly is quite wondrous I have never seen anything quite like it. You darling post some of the most interesting tidbits…so very yummy indeed. My heartfelt thank you for this very pretty post. Kisses Catherine

  9. Wow wow wow. That Norwegian church is totally cool. (Love Oddee.com!)

  10. sumanto mandal says:

    Thanx 4 putting such wonderful thing for us.

Leave a Reply

