Casa du Glassa: A walk around my office/library

I’ve been meaning to reply in kind to Lisa’s recent post about her redone office. I’ve snapped some quick photos and will walk you around the space. This office and the master bedroom are two of the reasons we bought this house. Suzy has a craft space down the hall complete with two sewing machines, an embroider machine, a dedicated washer and dryer, two surgers and machines I don’t even know about for all the sewing and crafting she does.

DSCF1142 DSCF1151 DSCF1144

The first shot doesn’t to the view justice. Through the window is what you call a territorial view with lots of trees but you can see Lake Sammamish when it’s not snowing like it is today. Instead of two monitors, like I have at work, I have one wide screen that came with Suzy’s new computer. It didn’t fit in her roll-top desk so I inherited it much to my delight. The desk runs the length of the windows or about 12 feet long. The TV aka game video is to the left and the monitor is to the right of the main window. I don’t want to impact upon that view. We paid enough for it and by golly I’m gonna enjoy it.

My music stands are to my right and there are over twelve instrument and two music stands for my practicing. As you turn right you see the bookcases and cabinets that Suzy made me. They go from the floor to the ceiling and many of the shelves have not been touched in years. Sigh, yes another project.

 DSCF1146 DSCF1145 DSCF1093 

Okay continuing to the right there’s the fireplace, more of Suzy’s bookshelves and the French door exit to the hallway. Then there’s the Thomas Catalina organ that is in mint condition. Mom and Dad bought for $15 from an estate sale. The bookshelves you see as you continue to turn to your right used to be in the living room of our old house in Kent. The two chairs have been reupholstered by Suzy and were donated by her parents. The white platform under one of the chairs is the Wii Fit unit. The chess set is often used by my grandson and I to play chess. The drumset is used with the Rockband 2 game on xBox and the printer is over a collection of CDs.

My dad had a library like this in the Presbyterian manse we used to live in. So I learned a lot from his space there and the many offices I’ve had since. The computer is in the desk and out of sight. The big printer is one of two that we used to copy music for the various bands we have. We keep the originals in the music room filing cabinets.

This is were I spend most of my time, in my office with the music going, cruising the Internet. Often times our kids or the grandkids are next to me playing a video game. And if I’m here too long one of the dawglies or my wife Suzy will come get me.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Hobbies, Music, My World. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Casa du Glassa: A walk around my office/library

  1. Graham says:

    I want those bookshelves I want those bookshelves I want those bookshelves.Very nice.Wishing you and yours a very happy Christmas.All the best.Graham

Leave a Reply

