Poodle-fakers and Scrimshankers

50 of your favorite words from the BBC…

Dictionary I’m told there are a lot of sesquipedalians out there. I’m surrounded at work by word people such are most writers and editors. The BBC asked for “your favourite words and were overwhelmed with nominations.” Here they list 50 of the best.

1. To throw something (someone) out of a window is to defenestrate. I love this word because it immediately brings some interesting memories to the front, not to mention makes me think of some new things to toss out of a window. – Lee Nachtigal, West Hartford, Connecticut, USA2. Poodle-faker – a young man too much given to taking tea with ladies. – Jane, PembrokeRead more…

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Language, Slang. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Poodle-fakers and Scrimshankers

  1. Beth says:

    Good reading.  Thanks!  I hope your Thanksgiving is great!

  2. Kathryn says:

    Oh, I bookmarked that page – since I LOVE words! :-)
     
     
    And here’s to you and Suzie having a great thanksgiving…..you are in the states – not canada? wait..yes, you are – why am I thinking you are not – oh yeah "favourite" – or was that in the quote – dang it all – Washington, right? or wai t- crap….I’m all confused.

  3. Kathryn says:

    yes, you are in washington – not canada – I know that – I remember! I remember! yayyy! *laughing*

  4. JaAG says:

    LOL, Kathryn you have a better memory than me. I’d have to look to see where you live. Yes, we live in what Seattlites call the Eastside a couple of blocks from Lake Sammamish. Fact is I’m in the library and in an usually sunny and bright day for the Northwest, I’m enjoy a view of the beautiful blue waters of this lake.

  5. Bertie says:

    Loved this.  A few of the words I actually knew and liked.  One that I didn’t know I am trying to memorize because it describes me these days is " cryptomnesia".  I’m going to try to remember that.  Thanks for this.

  6. daphne says:

    I love this entry! I just love it – i am having so much fun right now. I will tell my co-workers that today i am a scrimshanker – since it is Thanksgiving and i will be out of this building by two!
    Happy Thanksgiving, Gandalfe, Suzy and family!
    love, daphne

  7. Planet Nicola says:

    Hi, Gandalfe, thanks for your comment… I did cherry pick all the TV shows, like you suggested, and now I havewhittled the list down to just one…Desperate Housewives!! : )) lmaoOh my adventurous life! tc hugs,nicola x x x

Leave a Reply

