Village of Joy: 50 Strange Buildings of the World

From the amazing, interesting, wonderful, weird, odd, and funny Village of Joy Web site we find a collection of very odd buildings. Some of these, such as the one pictured below must be difficult to live in.

CrookedHouse

Suzy has made custom curtains for semi-round windows, but doing so for some of these windows just boggle the mind. And you have to wonder want the sonic effects would be if you were practicing music in one of these rooms. Do some of the earlier played music phrase come around to mesh with the current ones you are playing. If you went around a crooked corner to fast, would you see yourself just going out of site just up ahead?

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Everyday Science. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Village of Joy: 50 Strange Buildings of the World

  1. Kathryn says:

    hi! So you finally saw Bat Boy the Musical! laughing!!! Well, actually my part was smaller than those – I was in most of the scenes, but I only had two lines: DANG! and "I’ll bet that’s one powerful critter!" Othe rthan that, I sang with the crowd and all that ….I was Clementine – which in the original play is supposed to be CLEM – but they made the man into a woman — :-)

  2. Beth says:

    Amazing!

  3. Graham says:

    And now you know how the world looks all the time to some people.
    And Witchy promised me faithfully that she’d never mention the thong incident.
    And congratulations on the your Granddaughter!
    It was raining hard that day.
    Best wishes.

  4. Deb's says:

    OMG… Now I’ve ran across houses that looked this whilst I’ve been under the influence of some alcofrolic beverages, but never whilst sober… I have just 2 questions screaming thru my mind as I look at this picture… the first is HOW in the he** was the planning even possible let alone the building of it, the construction company musta been on acid or something similar and the gods alone know what planet the architects head is on but I imagine a lonely room with padded walls and my second is Why?
    nah… I think its fascinating, would be interested to see inside of it too, who knows the inside may be like that of a regular building and only the outside of it defies all known laws …
     
    as for Graham and the thong incident…. I’m still recovering… lol but then I am of the mind that no one should wear such instruments of torture… much prefer summit clingy around the buttocks… lmao
    have a great evening
    hugs
    debs
    xXx

  5. Laoch says:

    freaky!

  6. daphne says:

    I love this kind of thing – but i am always so disappointed when you get inside and find out that the outside is just a facade.
    love, daphne

  7. JaAG says:

    In this case Daphne, I suspect you are right. When I was building my current house, I considered having a Hobbit burrow built instead of what I have now. It would have all been underground. Still wish I’d done it actually. Not that I’m complaining mind you, but still so cool.

  8. kitten says:

    I am in awe this is so beautifully done. Bravo to the architect I love to see talent achieved in such a diverse way. People no matter the expression never cease to amaze me, great post darling. Hugs Catherine

Leave a Reply

