Family Scrabble

scrabble This from XKCD.com just made me laugh. And that is a good thing as I stress about the elections. Many of my friends say they are concerned but still trust the public to make the right decision. I’m not so quick to say that after the last two presidential elections.

My mom, sister, wife and I have this long running tradition of playing Scrabble every Thanksgiving. And we’ve kept track of the last ten or so games. I believe my fair wife is up two at this point which shows how good she is at these kind of games. She up against an English Major (mom), a technical writer (me), and a bank VP (my sister).

Well, actually my sister isn’t a VP; she just ends up training them because she isn’t willing to move from the local bank to accept a position as a VP. And she retires at a very young age next year. You might remember we are all taking a cruise to Scandinavia to celebrate next year.

By the way, if the word opportunity came up for me in one of our competitions you know damn well, I’d jump all over it. <smile>

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Hobbies, Holiday, Humor, Too Spicy for some and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Family Scrabble

  1. Laoch says:

    Scrabble success is actually predicated less upon verbal skills than math related ability. The best players are inevitably quants.

  2. Beth says:

    I wish you luck!!
    P.S.  I am stressing over the election too!

  3. Kathryn says:

    Oh! Family traditions! I miss that — when I was growing up, we had thanksgiving dinner every TG with cornbread dressing and all the trimmins … but now, everyone is too far away.So, we began a new tradition of having people from the theater over who do not have family close by either, or want to avoid family *laughing*
     
    Can I come play scrabble with your family..dang it all, but I suck at it, so never mind…..

  4. Deb's says:

    you’re doing it allllllll wrong hun..
    if that word comes up, you certainly don’t jump all over it- ;))
     
    lurrve scrabble, the hubs and I play with a pair of racks each… and 14 tiles, makes for an interesting game
    fingers crossed for the Election… who knows with the way they counted last time, Bush just may get in again …lol omg what a thought though eh?
    love n hugs
    debs
    xXx

Leave a Reply

