The Perils of a Religious Upbringing…

My sister sent this to me and now it’s all over the Web.  :o)

As I walked down the busy sidewalk, knowing I was late for church, my eye fell upon one of those unfortunate, homeless vagabonds that are found in every city these days.

Some people turned to stare. Others quickly looked away as if the sight would somehow contaminate them.

Recalling my old pastor, the  very Rev. Mike, who always admonished me to ‘care for the sick, feed the hungry and clothe the naked,’ I was moved by some powerful inner urge to reach out to this unfortunate person.

Wearing what can only be described as rags, carrying every worldly possession in two plastic bags, my heart was touched by this person’s condition.

Yes, where some people saw only rags, I saw a true, hidden beauty.

A small voice inside my head called out, ‘Reach out, reach out and touch this person!’

So I did…

I won’t be at church this week.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Too Spicy for some. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Perils of a Religious Upbringing…

  1. Beth says:

    LOL!!!!!!!   Got me.

  2. Deb's says:

    lmao.. brilliant, :))
    just knew you were warped… love it! :))
    have a lovely evening
    love  n hugs
    debs
    xXx

  3. JaAG says:

    Warped as charged. Do you think the young lady in the picture is Josephine the plumber?

  4. Sheena's says:

    sorry..canlt type very well..still laughing…and no…not Queen of the jungle….’tis old hat…that!!……

  5. Graham says:

    That’s me in my blond wig! So it was you who touched me there! I won’t be at church this week either.

  6. JaAG says:

    So you’re a plumber?  ;o)

Leave a Reply

