The Final Word: Good punctuation brings periods of happiness

“An exclamation mark is like laughing at your own jokes.” – Scott Fitzgerald

I thought I was the only one with bad comma karma. But Craig Wilson of USA Today writes in “The Final Word: Good punctuation brings periods of happiness“, that he too has agonized about the placement of commas or the lack thereof. It’s one of the thangs my dad says to me about my writing. But I notice he doesn’t correct them or give me specific suggestions.

“E-mail has not helped any, mainly because it’s often communication through sentence fragments. Dashes and ellipses galore. Maybe that’s why I use lots of exclamation points in my e-mail. It’s not that my sentence fragments are exciting. I’m just trying to make them so. Like this!”

Exclamation points are really funny in most cases. I must remember to use them less!  ;o)

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Humor, Language. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Final Word: Good punctuation brings periods of happiness

  1. Rambling says:

    I have thought about exclamation points ever since having read about that habit in a previous blog of yours.  I am more conscious of them and don’t use them as much but..I reserve the right to do so as my usage is not so wonderfully correct that anyone would notice an extra ! or !!.   :-)  My commas are a law unto themselves and many times I won’t see the misplacement until it is too late and the blog, as an example, is published.  I say "Oh Well", unless my used-to-be English Instructor comes toward me brandishing a Harbrace,

  2. Kathryn says:

    Okay, as an editor (and writer, but mostly editor) I know grammar purty good (laugh) – however!!! when I am writing emails and comments and posts – I really! really!!! have to watch my exclamation points…and my ellipses…!
     
    When I write, or when I edit or read other’s writing, the exclamation points better be few — I mean, really few!
     
    Commas – oh the comma – it took me forever to "get" the comma! And even then, there are differences between editors in the use of commas! !!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!…..!~!!!!!!!!!!!!!!…!!!!!!!!!—-!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

