ElectroWhoCardioFlook – Say what?

Grinch_stole As I prepare for this years’ Christmas concert I’m thinking I’ll need a Dr. Suess hat. You see, the band is playing Ward Baxter’s “You’re a mean one, Mr. Grinch” featuring the bass sax or as the Suess man called it, the ElectoWhoCardioFlook. Sorry, that just makes me laugh, now that I’ve learned to spell and pronounce it.

So where does one go to find one of these wonderful Suess character hats. There are so many to select from, but I was thinking eschewing the Whoville styles and going for the always classic hat from “The Cat in the Hat” book.

SuessHat I even toyed with doing the candy-striped hose and lederhosen look, but decided just the hat would be easier and cheaper.

I expect that some of my gentle readers are wondering about this need of mine to think that far in advance. Especially about Christmas time which comes so fast. Well there’s compulsive and then there’s me or uber-compulsive about some things. I do not want to leave this to chance.

If you are in Seattle on 6 December at 5 PM, swing by the Seattle Center DSCF0754House and catch the Woodinville Community Band. If you’ve read this blog for long, you have already heard recordings and know how good this band is. Why just last week a friend of mine from Toronto heard the Fall 2007 concert clip on YouTube and commented that community bands didn’t sound that good where she came from!

I suppose I don’t need to tell you that the instrument in question is the Eppelsheim bass sax that is keyed to low A. And I have been trying lots of mouthpiece reed combinations trying to get the most convincing, throbbing, low bass sound possible. I’d like to memorize the song and play it standing rather than seated. We’ll see…

Oh, and voicing the ElectoWhoCardioFlook? Let’s just say I’m getting there. It takes a lot of air, finesse, and iterations. My intent is to make the house shake and the little kids cry for their moms.  ;o)

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Eppelsheim, Music, Saxophone. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to ElectroWhoCardioFlook – Say what?

  1. Beth says:

    It is never to early to start preparing for Christmas!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    I love this idea! You are hereby required to don said hat once acquired and photograph yourself whereupon you must post the aforementioned picture with a suitable caption.
    Yep.  

  3. Bertie says:

    This will be something to see.  I’m glad you are taking us since I don’t like to drive in the big city at my tender age.  Mom

  4. Jade says:

    Haha, shake the house!and then take that picture with that Flook-n-hat !

  5. kitten says:

    Darling I love the holidays but all I can think about is the poor little children…oh my…bad boy darling making them cry for their mommies…smiles. I like you shaking up the house though, Kisses Catherine

Leave a Reply

