NYT: An Energy Diet for Power-Hungry Household PCs

In the NYT this morning:

“In its drive to go green, the technology industry has so far focused mainly on big targets like corporations and especially computer data centers, the power-hungry computing engine rooms of the Internet economy.

Next come the hundreds of millions of desktop and laptop personal computers in households worldwide.”

Read more…

It’s amazing how many people don’t realize how much a computer monitor requires. I’m hard pressed to walk away from mine without putting the machine in sleep mode. At work I notice some monitors on when arrive early in the morning, hours before the owner will start using the computer.

“The potential savings in both dollars and pollution is huge, analysts say, when the estimated one billion PCs in use globally are taken into account. The research firm Gartner estimates that 40 percent of all carbon dioxide emissions resulting from information technology and telecommunications are attributable to PCs. Data center computers account for 23 percent, and the rest is attributable to printers and telecommunications equipment.”

Is this an ah ha moment for you?

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to NYT: An Energy Diet for Power-Hungry Household PCs

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Ah ha indeed.  I’m feeling sheepish at the moment because our computer is turned on nearly 24 hours a day.  I’m thinking that deep sleep mode is in order.  

  2. Beth says:

    This is an AACK!! I didn’t know that moment.

  3. Jade says:

    one of the main reasons I got an LCD monitor, even though utilities are included here.At my last house I put everything on power strips & shut them off at night-the game room tv & stereo stuff downstairs was off for months!In the kids room who was gone for a week at a time, he learned early to shut off all his stuff-it was a pia for him though because his nintendo would lose its settings…so he could keep everything on until he left for the week-I have my monitor to shut off but my computer is set to "never" for everything, I shut it off at 8pm. Plus there are days I try not to turn it on at all and read a BOOK…. which i am finding to be most difficult!

  4. JaAG says:

    Jade, any savings that you’d care to share besides the obvious benefit of spending more time reading?

  5. Rambling says:

    I turn it off every night when I (and he) go to bed.  I do during the day as well when I am gone for over 45 minutes.  As I have cable broadband..the modem is always on.

Leave a Reply

