DoshDosh: How to Say Nothing in 500 Words (A Lesson on Writing)

This is a good read on a number of levels. I started out reading this thinking, “Yes, why don’t more bloggers know this!” I ended up realizing I’d slid into some of the traps that come from being a lazy blogger, a writer who wanders, and someone who could be a bit shorter and still get the message across.

DoshDosh “The ability to write well is very useful for our personal and professional lives. It helps students, business people, politicians, writers,  bloggers, marketers and everyone who has ever needed to arrange words together to convey ideas or opinions. The written word has become an essential means of social communication: mastery of it helps you to enthrall and  persuade an audience that would look upon you favorably in return.It goes without saying that learning how to create compelling content is a part of one’s success as an online publisher. Reading widely and deeply while consistently honing your writing skills helps a great deal in bettering your prose. Sometimes, it doesn’t hurt to read a few stylebooks/essays on writing by professional teachers or authors.”I included the anime character because I just thought it was cute. :o)Read more…

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Language, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to DoshDosh: How to Say Nothing in 500 Words (A Lesson on Writing)

  1. Beth says:

    Very good links!  Thanks!

  2. kitten says:

    I love this article so much that at a later date Umm thinking I will read it in its entirety. I wish I could say I do these things but I am guilty of writing “common thoughts floating in community soup” exactly what they tell you not to write. Is it the poet in me that thinks I can take such liberty of there I go again? I am laughing as I am typing this. Great Post Darling!! Kisses Catherine

  3. Rambling says:

    I haven’t read it yet but as you already know without my saying so, I am not a fan of brief blog…brief anythings.  One:  I am from the South and we are not a brief people.
    Two:  Sometimes I have, as Southerners do, a lot to meander on about.  :-)

Leave a Reply

