A Big Bird in Woodinville

This just in from a fellow writer at work:

When I got home Monday evening, a bear was snacking on the bird feeders in the back yard. My wife Cynthia was sitting on the back deck watching the squirrels just before noon, when all of a sudden they split. She then saw the bear coming around the side of the house, about 15 feet away. She got up slowly and said, “Hello, bear,” whereupon it ambled off the other direction.

The photos are taken through a screen door, so are a bit fuzzy.

No more feeding the birds this summer!

clip_image001  clip_image002
clip_image003  clip_image004 clip_image005

When I pinged the fellow to get permission to use the pictures he added, “Sure. I hope the bear sticks to bird feeders and garbage cans, and doesn’t get shot.”

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Wildlife. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Big Bird in Woodinville

  1. Vanessa says:

    OMG!  That’s a pretty big black bear!  LOL He/she is pretty cute though….

  2. Beth says:

    All I can say is WOW!!!  Glad it wasn’t in my back yard!

  3. Rambling says:

    happened in my neighborhood last week.

  4. Rambling says:

    those are great photos.  I am so glad you have them.

  5. Barb says:

    Wow look at the size of this guy/gal..
    I am rather amazed his wife said "hello Bear"
    and then calmly took these pictures!!
    Great shots too
    BE Well
    Barb

  6. Isabelle says:

    Errrrrrr…….. and that gut was sitting in your garden!
     
    If I was certain it would not eat my a** I would gladly hug it!!
     
    You are soooooo lucky to have wildlife at your door step….OK BE CAUTIOUS THOUGH!!
     
    These poor fellows are often hungry because their habitats are constantly reduced…..and soon they will be like those stray dogs and cats eating from our domestic dustbins…..the only difference is that they are really dangerous not because they want to but because they are hungry and wild animals.
     
    The only radical soloution is often to kill them…..geez……Imagine the situation reversed! Humans eating from the bins of bears. May sounds weird but the fact is that we never try to get into the shoes of other creatures.
     
    Ok I may stop or else I will right a book.
     
    I would like to appologize for not being a very good friend lately. It’s just that I am taking a bit of time off from blogland due to some problems with my dear boy friend. It appears that I spend to much time in blogland…..in fact I do!
     
    Besides I have been sick with a huge stomach upset for the past FOUR days.
     
    I hope to be a bit more present in the future.
     
    Take care and my regards to your lovely wife!
    Isa

  7. Laoch says:

    wow

Leave a Reply

