WJE at the Ballard Locks

The Woodinville Jazz Ensemble was my jazz home for a number of years. But this year my friends and I split that band into two to create the all-new Woodinville Big Band. More about the Big Band later. Yesterday the WJE had their annual Ballard Locks gig. It was a perfect day and we had the biggest audience ever with between 75 to 100 enthusiastic listeners at any given time. Kudos to the Corps of Engineers for making this happen. I know it isn’t an easy thing to set up every year. But we luv you for makin’ it happen.

  DSCF0618    DSCF0617

   The Brass Sections                                        The Rhythm Section

  DSCF0615    DSCF0621

Greg the Director                                            The Sax Section

Suzy and I luved the way Greg, the bari sax player would stand up at the end of a song and direct the band to a close. It was not only cool, but in places rather complex. Greg Cagle (aka Mr. Honk) made it look easy. I missed being in the band, but you can only be in so many bands. I’m down to three right now and things are much easier as a result.

Way to go WJE!  :o)

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Band, Community, Jazz, Music, My World, Saxophone. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to WJE at the Ballard Locks

  1. Beth says:

    The pictures are great!  I do believe your summer is off to a great start.!

  2. Rambling says:

    You and Suzy are doing what you love best!  And I enjoy learning about it as we bump along for the ride.

  3. kitten says:

    How about gifting us with a little of your music we out here in wonderland wouldn’t mind hearing one of your bands. It is really great to see you and Suzy having so much fun playing together. Great pictures too darling I Hope you both have a summer filled with adventure. Kisses and Hugs Catherine

Leave a Reply

