The Infinitesimal Universe?

“It is enough for me to contemplate the mystery of conscious life, perpetuating itself through all eternity; to reflect upon the marvelous structure of the Universe; and to try humbly to comprehend even an infinitesimal part of the intelligence manifested in nature.” -Albert Einstein

At work today, I’m scrambling to prepare a post for the team blog because so many people have missed their deadlines that I need to cover for them. I was working on a piece called Social Networking Diagrams when I ran across this diagram:

NetworkExcelAddin

I was stunned by the beauty of this illustration of some obscure networking relationships. And my first thought was along sci-fi vice professional lines of thought. You see, I’ve been watching ‘The Universe’ which is a series on the History Channel. And they say the universe is finite–you heard me finite! Now the human race has been able to understand and see sub-particles of sub-atomic particles. What if we were like that sub-particle in the grand scheme of things.

If we were, then we might not know about say JFK or Pluto from the vantage point of a sub-sub-atomic particle. So in this diagram, our universe as we know it might be represented as one the smallest specks. Or we might be even smaller than that. Finite my hindermost!   :o)

BTW, I found that on the Internet many people are using the spelling using infidecimal rather than what I have used above. I have to say I find “new” spellings to be rather interesting.  ;o)

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Art, Everyday Science, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Infinitesimal Universe?

  1. Beth says:

    This was an interesting post.  The diagram is lovely enough to be framed.

  2. Rambling says:

    so "finite your hintermost", huh?  Gave me a smile here.

  3. Scottishpeace says:

    Just stopping by and reading your posts, and decided to leave one myself….As you know, I, too, have watched "The Universe" series (I’m not omniscient enough to watch the WHOLE universe…if you understand my meaning!) Do you think everything will end with a bang or a whimper? (Perhaps both?) Love the graphic on that post related to networking relationships! Take care.

  4. Lizzie-Beth4Him says:

    It is a lovely diagram.  Had a nice chuckle over your personal comment…lol.

  5. Josie says:

    Amber saw the picture as I was reading the blog.  She asked if that was her picture because it was pretty and used all the colors she used in her picture she had just colored.  I started explaining how it was a graph of relationship and…  ok, it is a picture of pretty bubbles.  It is a nice piece of art.  Amber appreciates it.

Leave a Reply

