James E. Matheson – Photographer

A friend of mine at work is a guitarist and photographer. I saw this picture on his desktop and found out that he is an award-winning photographer who didn’t actually follow that career path. So I thought I’d share the picture that caught my attention. Maybe some day he will put more of his artwork out on the Internet.

JimMath_RRGorge01

This is an example of where the art genres become mixed; is it a photograph or a painting? Isn’t it interesting how the rock above the waterfall appears to be floating in the air? It has an almost 3D effect. By contrast the waterfall almost appears at first glance to be two dimensional.

About Gandalfe

Just an itinerant saxophonist trying to find life between the changes. I have retired from the Corps of Engineers and Microsoft. I am an admin on the Woodwind Forum, run the Microsoft Jumpin' Jive Orchestra, and enjoy time with family and friends.
This entry was posted in Photograph. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to James E. Matheson – Photographer

  1. Rambling says:

    That is a stunning photograph!  Absolutely lovely.

  2. Beth says:

    The picture is awesome.  I can see why he won awards for photography!

  3. Laoch says:

    This is nice.

  4. coco says:

    thank you for sharing it.

  5. Deb's says:

    Greetings Gandalfe,
     
    lovely picture :))
     
     
    thanks for stopping by my place and for the comment, glad you liked my picture, (that is one of my favourites too, and I agree it does have a very feminine feel to it)  it was taken in 2001 in the corkscrew canyon at Page in Arizona, it was a beautiful day, and after using about 4 rolls of film in the canyon…. I was chased by a wasp for nealry 20 minutes, not helped by the fact I had used a honey based shampoo earlier that day…lol
    have a great weekend
    best wishes
    debs
    xXx

  6. kitten says:

    I must be hungry for the rock looks like a yummy chocolate brownie with a sprinkle of powered sugar on top, edible art…Kisses Catherine

Leave a Reply

